337 Napoleon Street

New Roads, LA 70760



Thursday, January 6, 2011


The Pointe Coupee Parish School Board met in a special session on Thursday, January 6, 2011, at 337 Napoleon Street, New Roads, LA.  Mr. Chad Aguillard, President, called the meeting to order at 5:55 p.m.


Board members present were Chad Aguillard, Frank R. Aguillard, Jr., Brandon Bergeron, James Cline, Leslie Ann Grezaffi, Kevin Hotard, Anita LeJeune, and Thomas Nelson.


Mr. Frank Aguillard lead the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.


Mr. Larry Bossier offered the invocation.

                                                                           - - - -


Election of Pointe Coupee Parish School Board Officers (President and Vice-President) to Serve January 2011-December 31, 2011.  School Board Member Thomas Nelson interjected a point of order.  He stated that the Board should vote to elect someone to serve as President of the School Board, and not for the office of Vice President. According to the policy that was adopted by the School Board in December 2007, the Vice President serves for two consecutive years.  Mr. Brandon Bergeron was elected as Vice President in December 2009; therefore, according to the current policy, Mr. Bergeron has one year left to complete his term in office.


Mr. Thomas Nelson made a motion to nominate Mr. Chad Aguillard as President. The motion was seconded by Mr. Kevin Hotard.  Unanimously carried.


Mr. Frank Aguillard made a motion to close nominations.  Mr. James Cline seconded the motion.  Unanimously carried.


Mr. Thomas Nelson moved by acclamation to nominate Mr. Chad Aguillard as President of the Pointe Coupee Parish School Board.  Mr. Frank Aguillard seconded the motion.  There being no opposition, the motion carried and Mr. Chad Aguillard was elected to the office of President of the Pointe Coupee Parish School Board from January 2011-December 31, 2011.

                                                                           - - - -


Appointment of School Board Members to Serve on Committees.  President Chad Aguillard appointed the following members of the School Board to serve on Committees from January 2011-December 2011:


Executive Committee Members:

It was noted that President Chad Aguillard will serve as Chairperson of this Committee


Grounds & Building Committee Members:


Consent Committee Members:


Finance Committee Members:


Legislative Liaison Representative:


                                                                           - - - -


Personnel Actions.  Lisa Huffaker, Supervisor of Personnel, read the following personnel actions to be considered:


7-A.      Consider Appointment of School Food Service Managers for Livonia High School and Rougon Elementary School.


Ms. Huffaker stated that the School Food Service Manager positions were advertised. Six people were on the Interview Committee that interviewed five candidates for the position at Livonia High and Rougon Elementary that became vacant due to retirement of employees.


7-B       Consider Advertisement for Master/Mentor Teachers for the Implementation of the TAP Program at Upper Pointe Coupee Elementary


A lengthy discussion regarding the TAP Program lead by Mrs. Anita LeJeune ensued.


It was stated that the Teacher & Student Advancement Program (TAP) is in year 1 at Rosenwald Elementary and that other parish schools are Pre-TAP schools.  The goal of TAP is to increase teacher effectiveness and student achievement.  Rosenwald Elementary's TAP master teachers' salaries and benefits are funded by Title I and Title II.  The teachers and administrators incentive part of TAP is funded by a 5-year federal Teacher Incentive Fund (TIF) grant received in collaboration with the LA State Department of Education and seven other parishes. Master Teachers and Mentor Teachers' stipends are funded by the TIF grant. For the 2011-2012 school year, the TIF grant was scheduled to have UPCE and Rougon begin their first year of TAP.  Due to funding constraints and the need to fully fund TAP with grants, the district has requested to add only UPCE as a TAP school in 2011-2012.  The other three schools would become TAP schools in 2012-2013, if possible.


Title I School Improvement funding is expected to support TAP at Rosenwald and Title I and Title II funding will support TAP at UPCE.  Training for new TAP Master and Mentor teachers begins in February; therefore, we need to appoint these teachers so they can participate in all training opportunities.  The appointed master and mentor teachers will not begin their jobs until August 2011.  All training will be funded by an 8g grant specifically received for that purpose.


Mr. James Cline made a motion to approve the following personnel actions.  Mr. Thomas Nelson seconded the motion.  Unanimously approved.


Jeffery Martin , Livonia High School, effective 01.12.2011

Barbara Guerin, Rougon Elementary School, effective 01.12.2011


                                                                           - - - -

Remarks from the Superintendent.  Mrs. D'Amico reminded Board members to review the mail in their update folders (i.e., letter grades for Louisiana Schools; LSBA Workshop; etc.)

                                                                           - - - -

Adjournment.  On a motion by Mr. Thomas Nelson, seconded by Mr. Frank Aguillard, the meeting adjourned at 6:47 p.m.




Chad Aguillard, President


Linda D'Amico,