337 Napoleon Street

New Roads, LA  70760



Monday, May 11, 2015



The Pointe Coupee Parish School Board met in a special session on Monday, May 11, 2015, at 337 Napoleon Street in New Roads, Louisiana 70760.  President Frank Aguillard, Jr. called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.


Board members present were: Chad Aguillard, Frank Aguillard, Brandon Bergeron, James Cline, Leslie Grezaffi, Bobby Jarreau, Anita LeJeune and Thomas Nelson.


Central Office Supervisory Staff/Principals in attendance were:  Superintendent Linda D’Amico, Bridget Berry, Lacey Bueche, Donald Fuselier, Kate Guillory, Karla Jack, Kristy LaCoste, Stephen Langlois, LaShonda Victorian, Mary Wells;  Marcie Cazayoux, Principal of Rougon Elementary, and Myron Brown, Principal of Upper Pointe Coupee Elementary.


Mr. Brandon Bergeron led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.


Mr. Robert L. Hammonds was requested to offer the invocation.


- - - -


Second Round Candidate Interviews for Superintendent of Schools.  President Frank Aguillard stated members of the public were able to talk informally with the three candidates (Mr. Anthony Cain, Mrs. Lisa D’Aquila, and Mr. Kevin Lemoine) at a meet/greet reception this afternoon from 4:30-5:30 p.m. prior to tonight’s special meeting.  He mentioned the meeting is being recorded by video/audio; however, he did not see any television cameras and/or the local radio station broadcasting the meeting. Everyone was requested to place their cell phone on silent mode.  President Aguillard announced candidate names were pulled to determine their seating order at the table where they will face the audience for the public forum part of the second round of interviews. Mrs. Linda D’Amico, moderator, explained the process that would be followed. Each candidate will be given an opportunity to make an opening/closing statement; answer three questions within the track order of response changing with each question in a 2-3 minute time frame. Candidates were also notified, in writing, following the public questioning, the Board may enter into an executive session for more personal questioning relative to each candidate’s competence, character, strength and weaknesses and will be done outside of the presence of each finalist.

Executive Session.  On a motion by Mr. Brandon Bergeron, seconded by Mrs. Anita LeJeune, the Board convened in executive session at 6:25 p.m.


Open Session.  On a motion by Mr. James Cline, seconded by Mr. Thomas Nelson, the Board reconvened in open session at 7:19 p.m.


It was announced that each School Board member will receive a written ballot prepared with the names of the three (3) finalists; each Board member will vote for one candidate and sign the ballot; the ballots will be submitted simultaneously to Mrs. Linda D’Amico, moderator, for tabulation of votes.  The votes of all School Board members will be tallied and the voting shall continue until one (1) of the finalists has received five (5) or more votes.



Round Two Voting for Superintendent of Schools.    The eight School Board members provided Moderator D’Amico with their signed and dated ballot selection. Mrs. D’Amico read the names of each School Board member and the selection they made resulting in the following for ballot 1 voting: Mr. Chad Aguillard voted for Mr. Kevin Lemoine; Mr. Frank Aguillard voted for Mr. Kevin Lemoine; Mr. Brandon Bergeron voted for Mr. Kevin Lemoine; Mr. James Cline voted for Mr. Kevin Lemoine; Mrs. Leslie Grezaffi voted for Mr. Kevin Lemoine; Mr. Bobby Jarreau, voted for Mrs. Lisa D’Aquila; Mrs. Anita LeJeune voted for Mr. Kevin Lemoine, and Mr. Thomas Nelson voted for Mr. Kevin Lemoine.  Superintendent D’Amico announced that Mr. Kevin Lemoine received 7 votes and Mrs. Lisa D’Aquila received 1 vote.


Board member James Cline offered a motion to select Mr. Kevin Lemoine as the next Superintendent of the Pointe Coupee Parish School Board, and to authorize the President and Vice President of the Board to meet with Attorney Hammonds to enter into contract negotiations with Mr. Lemoine prior to bringing the contract back to the full Board.  The motion was seconded by Mr. Brandon Bergeron.  A roll call vote resulted in the following:


YEAS:              Chad Aguillard, Frank Aguillard, Jr., Brandon Bergeron, James M. Cline, Leslie Ann Grezaffi, Bobby Jarreau, Anita LeJeune and Thomas Nelson.

NAYS:              None



On a 8-0 vote, Mr. Kevin Lemoine was appointed as Superintendent of the Pointe Coupee Parish School Board, effective July 1, 2015. 


- - - -


Adjournment.  On a motion by Mrs. Anita LeJeune, seconded by Mr. James Cline, the meeting adjourned at 7:26 p.m.




Frank R. Aguillard, Jr.



Linda D. D’Amico